The first year of the Seat León Eurocup is over

Oscar Nogués is receiving the cup for the winner of the first year of the Seat León Eurocup series
- 8. 10. 2008, Hradec Králové -

The debut season of the Seat León Eurocup finished last weekend at the Monza circuit, Italy, where the last of the brand-new series' six racing events took place, and the only Czech driver to contest this championship, Michal Matějovský, of the SUNRED-BRT team, returned to Hradec Králové.

'This has been a great experience for me. I am now well acquainted with racing circuits that were completely unknown to me before the season and, moreover, I have gained a lot of experience with the new car. In all, I hope that this will help me move up the standings to claim a top position among Europe's first-class drivers that contest this series. This year, I was a little bit surprised to see the very closely fought races, when ten to fifteen top drivers are well set to reach a top position. I am very glad that I can enjoy the support of the series' best team, SUNRED. This year, Seat León Eurocup was contested by five drivers under the SUNRED team's colours. The SUNRED team took the first place in the teams' standings and the team's driver Oscar Nogues, of Spain, made history by winning this brand-new championship. So, he will join the SEAT company's team to contest the FIA ETCC race at the Salzburgring circuit in Austria in two weeks' time,' said Michal Matějovský after coming back from the last race. The young driver from Hradec Králové successfully represented the team in each of the series' six racing events, and claimed the 16th spot of the final standings. On Sunday, Michal Matějovský, as one of the series' drivers, attended the final ceremony, where the results were officially announced. Photographs from this ceremony can be seen in the photo gallery attached to this article.

The 2008 Seat León Eurocup series' final ceremony at the Monza circuit Jamie Puig and Marcelo Lotti Marcelo Lotti, Jaime Puig, and the best three drivers Oscar Nogués (the winner), Marin Colak and Eoin Murray



Next Races